10 Books Like XOXO by Axie Oh

1137
1
Do Something Awesome. Tell a Friend:
Join Our Community of 5,000+ Adventure Seekers – Subscribe Now!

Get Ready to Go on a Cultural Journey:

Join Our Newsletter and Discover Fascinating Destinations and Literary Adventures That Will Ignite Your Imagination!

Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. If you choose to purchase after clicking a link, I may receive a commission at no extra cost to you.

Introduction

If you’re a fan of the captivating world of K-pop and Korean dramas, and you fell in love with “XOXO” by Axie Oh, then get ready to embark on a journey through eight enchanting books that capture the essence of this vibrant culture. These young adult novels will transport you to a world filled with music, romance, and the excitement of K-pop idols. From the thrills of the stage to the whirlwind of emotions, these books like “XOXO” by Axie Oh will captivate your heart and leave you yearning for more.

Check out my review of XOXO by Axie Oh here.

1. “I’ll Be the One” by Lyla Lee

I'll Be the One by Lyla Lee (books like XOXO by Axie Oh)

Overview

“I’ll Be the One” by Lyla Lee follows the story of Skye Shin, a talented plus-sized teenager who dreams of becoming the first plus-sized K-pop star. Despite facing judgment and body shaming, Skye remains determined to challenge the beauty standards of the industry and claim her rightful place in the spotlight.

Why You’ll Love It

“I’ll Be the One” captures the spirit of “XOXO” by Axie Oh by exploring themes of self-acceptance, perseverance, and breaking societal norms. It celebrates body positivity and showcases the strength and resilience of its protagonist. With its delightful romance and insider look at the world of K-pop, this book is a must-read for fans of “XOXO.”

2. “Shine” by Jessica Jung

Shine by Jessica Jung (books like XOXO by Axie Oh)

Overview

“Shine” by Jessica Jung, a former K-pop idol herself, offers readers an intimate glimpse into the cutthroat world of K-pop. The story follows Rachel Kim, a Korean-American trainee at DB Entertainment, as she navigates the challenges, rivalries, and sacrifices required to pursue her dream of becoming a K-pop star.

(Find more “Unputdownable” Romance Books here in our Ultimate List of 78+ Best Romance Novels!)

Why You’ll Love It

Just like “XOXO” by Axie Oh, “Shine” immerses readers in the captivating world of K-pop and provides an insider’s perspective on the industry. It explores the highs and lows of idol life, the intense competition, and the sacrifices necessary to achieve success. This book is a perfect choice for those who crave more behind-the-scenes stories of K-pop stardom.

3. “Once Upon a K-Prom” by Kat Cho

Once Upon a K-Prom by Kat Cho (books like XOXO by Axie Oh)

Overview

“Once Upon a K-Prom” by Kat Cho takes readers on a delightful journey as Lyla, a Korean-American teenager, gets caught up in the whirlwind of organizing her high school’s K-pop-themed prom. Along the way, she discovers love, friendship, and the power of embracing her cultural heritage.

Why You’ll Love It

With its K-pop theme and heartwarming romance, “Once Upon a K-Prom” is a perfect fit for fans of “XOXO” by Axie Oh. It explores themes of self-discovery, love, and the magic of music, all while celebrating Korean culture. This book will make you smile and leave you longing for your own K-pop prom experience.

Read More: Famous Korean Romance Novels in English: Discovering Timeless Love Stories

4. “Hello, I Love You” by Katie M. Stout

Hello, I love You by Katie M Stout (books like XOXO by Axie Oh)

Overview

In “Hello, I Love You” by Katie M. Stout, Grace Wilde impulsively decides to leave her troubled life in America and attend a prestigious K-pop music school in South Korea. As she immerses herself in a new culture, she finds unexpected friendship, romance, and a chance to heal from her past.

(Don’t know where to start with Korean literature? Check out our comprehensive list of Korean literature for beginners here!)

Why You’ll Love It

Similar to the themes explored in “XOXO” by Axie Oh, “Hello, I Love You” delves into the clash of cultures, personal growth, and the power of music. It offers a glimpse into the world of K-pop training and showcases the challenges faced by aspiring idols. This book will transport you to South Korea and keep you hooked until the last page.

5. “Somewhere Only We Know” by Maurene Goo

Somewhere only we know by Maurene Goo book cover

Overview

In this charming romance novel, Lucky meets Jack, a K-pop idol, during one unforgettable night in Hong Kong. As they explore the city together, their connection grows deeper, but the pressures of fame and the secrets they hold threaten to tear them apart.

Why You’ll Love It

Somewhere Only We Know” beautifully captures the excitement and glamour of the K-pop industry while exploring themes of identity, self-discovery, and following one’s dreams. With its lovable characters, swoon-worthy romance, and vivid descriptions of Hong Kong, this book will make your heart flutter.

6. “Gumiho: Wicked Fox” by Kat Cho

Gumiho: Wicked Fox by Kat Cho (books like XOXO by Axie Oh)

Overview

In “Gumiho: Wicked Fox” by Kat Cho, Miyoung, a nine-tailed fox known as a gumiho, and Jihoon, a human boy, embark on a forbidden romance amidst the bustling streets of modern-day Seoul. Their love is tested by ancient conflicts and dark secrets that threaten to tear them apart.

(Love romance books? Then you’d love these 20 irresistible romance novels from around the world!)

Why You’ll Love It

“Gumiho: Wicked Fox” captures the allure of Korean folklore and infuses it with a mesmerizing love story. Just like “XOXO” by Axie Oh, it blends elements of romance, fantasy, and Korean culture to create a captivating narrative. This book will transport you to the streets of Seoul and immerse you in a world of mythical creatures and forbidden love.

7. “The Way You Make Me Feel” by Maurene Goo

The Way You Make Me Feel by Maurene Goo book cover

Overview

The Way You Make Me Feel” by Maurene Goo introduces readers to Clara Shin, a prankster and class clown, who finds herself working on her father’s Korean-Brazilian fusion food truck. Through unexpected friendships, budding romance, and a culinary adventure, Clara discovers her passion and learns the importance of family and forgiveness.

Why You’ll Love It

With its delightful mix of food, humor, and heartwarming moments, “The Way You Make Me Feel” is reminiscent of the uplifting spirit found in “XOXO” by Axie Oh. It celebrates multiculturalism and explores themes of self-discovery, friendship, and embracing one’s roots. This book will leave you craving both delicious food and heartwarming stories.

8. “Seoulmates” by Susan Lee

Seoulmates by Susan Lee (books like XOXO by Axie Oh)

Overview

In “Seoulmates” by Susan Lee, Chloe Kang, a Korean-American teenager, travels to Seoul to spend the summer with her grandmother. As she immerses herself in the city’s vibrant K-pop and K-drama culture, she discovers love, friendship, and her own path.

(Love Korean Books? Check out Eugenia Kim’s The Kinship of Secrets here)

Why You’ll Love It

“Seoulmates” offers a delightful blend of romance, cultural exploration, and self-discovery. Just like “XOXO” by Axie Oh, it captures the essence of K-pop and K-drama fandom while delving into themes of identity, family, and following one’s passion. With its vivid setting and engaging characters, this book will make you fall in love with Seoul.

9. “Fireworks” by Alice Lin

Fireworks by Alice Lin book cover

Overview

“Fireworks” by Alice Lin follows the story of Angie, a teenager who dreams of becoming a K-pop star. When she auditions for a K-pop reality show, she faces intense competition and discovers the true meaning of friendship, perseverance, and finding her own voice.

Why You’ll Love It

“Fireworks” is a captivating story that delves into the world of K-pop stardom, similar to the themes explored in “XOXO” by Axie Oh. It combines elements of music, friendship, and personal growth, making it a compelling read for fans of the genre. This book will keep you hooked from beginning to end.

10. “The Noh Family” by Grace K. Shim

The Noh Family by Grace K. Shim (books like XOXO by Axie Oh)

Overview

“The Noh Family” takes readers on a journey through the lives of three sisters—Amy, Emily, and Alice—as they navigate the pressures of being part of a K-pop family. Each sister faces her own struggles, dreams, and desires, all while balancing fame, love, and family expectations.

(Want more book blogs to read? Check out our comprehensive best book blog list here!)

Why You’ll Love It

“The Noh Family” offers a unique perspective on the K-pop industry, focusing on the lives of the family members behind the scenes. It explores themes of sisterhood, identity, and the sacrifices made in pursuit of success. With its authentic portrayal of the K-pop world, this book will leave a lasting impression.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Q: Are these books suitable for young adult readers?

Yes, all the books mentioned in this article are suitable for young adult readers. They offer engaging stories, relatable characters, and themes that resonate with readers in the YA age group.

Q: Can I find these books in local bookstores or online?

Yes, these books are widely available in local bookstores, as well as online platforms such as Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and other e-book retailers. You can also check your local library for availability.

Q: Do these books explore K-pop and K-drama culture?

Yes, these books either directly or indirectly explore aspects of K-pop and K-drama culture. They capture the excitement, passion, and emotions associated with these vibrant cultural phenomena.

Q: Can I enjoy these books even if I’m not familiar with K-pop or K-dramas?

Absolutely! While these books have elements related to K-pop and K-dramas, they also offer compelling stories, relatable characters, and universal themes that can be enjoyed by readers who may not be familiar with the specific cultural references.

Q: Are these books part of a series?

Some of the books mentioned are part of a series, while others are standalone novels. Each book can be enjoyed independently, but if you find yourself engrossed in a series, there is more to explore beyond the first installment.

Q: Where can I purchase these books?

These books are available for purchase at most major bookstores, both online and offline. You can also check your local library for availability or consider e-book formats for convenient reading.

Final Thoughts on Books Like “XOXO” by Axie Oh

If you’re looking for books like “XOXO” by Axie Oh that capture the magic of K-pop, Korean dramas, and the excitement of this vibrant culture, these eight recommendations will transport you to a world filled with music, romance, and self-discovery. From the challenges faced by aspiring K-pop stars to the enchantment of mythical creatures, these books offer captivating stories that will keep you hooked from beginning to end. So grab your favorite reading spot, immerse yourself in these compelling reads, and let the adventures unfold.

Happy reading!
A.J. McMahon
.
.
.
(P.S. Got any other books you want me to review? Then…)

Let’s Connect!
– GoodReads: A.J. McMahon
– Instagram: FlyIntoBooks
– Pinterest: FlyIntoBooks
– Facebook: FlyIntoBooks
– Twitter: @FlyIntoBooks

Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. If you choose to purchase after clicking a link, I may receive a commission at no extra cost to you.

Join Our Community of 5,000+ Adventure Seekers – Subscribe Now!

Get Ready to Go on a Cultural Journey:

Join Our Newsletter and Discover Fascinating Destinations and Literary Adventures That Will Ignite Your Imagination!

Do Something Awesome. Tell a Friend:

1 COMMENT

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

three × 5 =